September 28, 2007

A Prayer For Couples

Posted in Lurve at 10:18 am by doodeedoo

Dear God,

Please make of our relationship a great and holy adventure.
May our joining be a sacred space.
May the two of us find rest here, a haven for our souls.

Remove from us any temptation to judge one another or to direct one another.
We surrender to You our conflicts and our burdens.
We know You are our Answer and our rock.
Help us to not forget.

Bring us together in heart and mind as well as body.
Remove from us the temptation to criticize or be cruel.
May we not be tempted by fantasies and projections, but guide us in the ways of holiness.
Save us from darkness.

May this relationship be a burst of light.
May it be a fount of love and wisdom for us, for our family, for our community, for our world.
May this bond be a channel for Your love and healing, a vehicle of Your grace and power.
As lessons come and challenges grow, let us not be tempted to forsake each other.
Let us always remember that in each other we have the most beautiful woman, the most beautiful man, the strongest one, the sacred one in whose arms we are repaired.

May we remain young in this relationship.
May we grow wise in this relationship.
Bring us what You desire for us, and show us how You would have us be.

Thank you, dear God, You who are the cement between us.
Thank You for this love.

Amen.

 ~~~~~~~~~

By Marianne Williamson. Taken from Chicken Soup for the Couple’s Soul.

I thought this was so apt, such a balm for the heart that sometimes is weighed down unnecessarily. A reminder to refocus and re-see the goodness in the other.

I hope this blesses you as much as it has me.

55 Comments »

  1. Angi said,

    I love this!

  2. Roel & Michelle said,

    I’ll pray this prayer to keep my relationship with my boyfriend last forever. I’ll encourage him to pray this prayer too. We are in a long distance relationship and trials come every now and then. We need God to cement a unstable relationship. Believe in the power of God.

    • MEANN said,

      WERE BOTH SAME MY BF ALSO IS FAR FROM ME AND I BELIEVE THAT THIS PRAYER CAN MAKE US BOTH CARE EACH OTHER EVEN WERE FAR FROM EACH OTHER

      GOD BLESS YOUR RELATIONSHIP AND GOODLUCK

      • Anonymous said,

        Good luck and keep the faith alive

  3. liz said,

    this prayer is to help my boyfriend jay bazzinotti and I…

    • liz said,

      hi this is liz -jay and i broke-up on 08/23/11.

      • Poca said,

        My deepest regards Liz. God has something special in store for you :-)

      • doodeedoo said,

        *hug* Sorry to hear that… hope you are holding up fine?

  4. sam said,

    this is a great prayer i will pray with my girl friend we have a long distance relationship an its rough.

  5. Anonymous said,

    Thank you for this prayer…!

  6. Clara said,

    This is a very pretty prayer. It’s not overdone. It’s very simple, genuine and full of love and hope. I am going to save it to my desk top and make sure that I find peace and hope in this prayer as I read it on a daily basis. It’s been months of trials and it’s time for a change of heart from both of us. Help us see the light and keep us together. Thx.

  7. J said,

    Upon reaching this site and praying, I felt lighter. Like most of you, I’m in a LDR, and it’s kindda hard, but with God I know everything’s gonna be better. Thank You for this prayer! (:

    • doodeedoo said,

      Dearest everyone,

      It has amazed me how this prayer has touched something deep in your lives – and how it keeps getting visited everyday. I’m humbled at the power of this prayer. I truly hope each of you finds renewed strength and peace in your relationships.

      Just today in church, I was asking God what He is sending me out to do; I’m trying to decide between youth ministry or couple ministry. Maybe He’s trying to tell me something… :)

      Much blessings to all.

  8. [...] a long long hiatus, and it’s time to be back. What prompted it? Yet another comment on a post from three years ago. It’s as if I’m being gently, constantly, persistently reminded to [...]

  9. coy3519 said,

    hello!

    i am also in a long distance relationship
    and sad to say..we have been constantly fighting lately..
    so i’m seeking for a refuge to heal our indifferences
    i’ll try my best and encourage my boyfriend to pray this everyday to guide us despite the distance..and give us strength always to hold on instead of falling apart..

    thanks for the prayer..

  10. Poca said,

    I and my fiancé are also in a long distance relationship. So the loneliness and time apart leads to many misunderstandings and disagreements. It is tough. We need to seriously begin praying this prayer.

    • doodeedoo said,

      I’ll be keeping you and your fiance in prayer. A normal relationship is already hard enough, let alone a long distance one.

  11. Poca said,

    Thank you doodeedoo :-)

  12. G517 said,

    I am also in a LDR, and it’s filled with so many challenges. I will start saying this prayer, and try to say it with him. I hope that it will help keep us strong together.

    • a. said,

      G517,

      Lots of blessings to you and your special one. :)

  13. Tess said,

    Thank you for the prayer…..

  14. doodeedoo said,

    You’re welcome Tess!

  15. Irene said,

    I am also in a long distance relationship.I know it is God that brought my boyfriend and i together.I am Kenyan and he is American.I keep on praying for us.I know this prayer works.Faith counts.

    • doodeedoo said,

      And love knows no boundaries indeed. Will keep you and your boyfriend in my prayers. :)

  16. Anonymous said,

    It is a powerful prayer! Things have gone well and we are now married two weeks and counting after a 3 year long distance relationship! God is good!

    • doodeedoo said,

      You have been praying this prayer all this while? What a testimony to God’s guidance and protection! God bless your marriage. :)

  17. Poca said,

    Yes, we prayed it whenever we could before we got married (when we were not arguing while going through the ‘difficult’ period!). Now we are married and pray it everyday and we are at peace :-)
    I wish the same for everyone else.

    God bless

    • doodeedoo said,

      :) Such a message of encouragment.

  18. Poca said,

    Long distance is not easy, but once both parties are serious and have God in their relationship, it can work :-)

  19. Tish said,

    Havin a hard time in my marrige I came accross this prayer and its beautiful I will pray it every day and will ask him to pray with me :)

    • doodeedoo said,

      God be with you and your husband – hang on dearly to each other!

  20. Anonymous said,

    I am in a long distance relationship, communication these days is not very good and i pray God blesses and cements my relationship with my boyfriend. we had plans to marry next year but i am feeling discouraged. please pray for me and my boyfriend mark. i have just seen this prayer and it has brought me a small measure of peace in my heart.

    patricia

    • doodeedoo said,

      Peace be and stay with you.

      The devil likes to wreck havoc when there are good things about to happen – we keep praying and trusting that God will make things well.

      God bless!

  21. Poca said,

    I hear and understand you Patricia. Most of us have been there, where communication is not the way that you feel it should at that point in a relationship. Don’t feel too discouraged concerning your mariage plans. My husband (of a month)and I were supposed to get married last year, and I put it off as I realized that we needed more time to work on ourselves and our relationship. He was not very happy, but eventually he came around.
    Hold strong. Whatever God has in store for you will come to pass. Keep praying this prayer and encourage him to pray it with you.

    Poca

  22. Michael Snelson said,

    Michael Snelson and Heather Hafner may become new lovers. I would meet her sooner. Heather may change her mind accept my love.

  23. anjalena said,

    I said this prayer to god to help me & my boyfriends relationship right now, we are going through some really rough& stressful times which is affecting the way we feel& think right now…. i left this is god’s hands to help us and to guide us and make our relationship stronger than ever…

  24. Anonymous said,

    hi im irish im also in long distance relationship and its so difficult that i and my love far each other but i believe in prayer that god make a way that we live together soon

  25. avita said,

    Amen*
    Ill apply dis prayer in my rship…
    I am not sure if he really loves me but I hope he really does n our rship last 4 life tym … Thanks :)

  26. avita said,

    It is good to praise Lord and make your name ,
    O most, proclaiming your love, the morning and your faithfulness at high .
    Psalm 92: 1-2

  27. avita said,

    We broke up :( :'(

    • doodeedoo said,

      Avita,

      Sorry to hear that. *hugs*

      Saying a prayer tonight for healing….

  28. Anonymous said,

    Thank you for this prayer…i receive the blessings that God may be having for me and my bf in store,..in jesus name AMEN.

  29. Dat girl said,

    My family wants me to no longer be with my boyfriend I will pray this prayer for us to be together forever. God is good God is love

  30. Michael Snelson said,

    Heather E. Hafner and Justin E. Hagerty are perfect couple. They
    became happy together forever. Heather and Justin may get married.
    Two people are stay together. (Heather Eli Hafner and Justin Edward
    Hagerty). They are real couple. Yahoo.

  31. Mr. iLoveRachele said,

    I love you so much Rachele.. Thank you God for bringing us together and making my life feel complete again. With you God as our foundation I know we can overcome any obstacle that we may face. I’ve always been the bad guy, the villain, the one who was suppose to die… But seeing that you would still bless me with Rachele after everything evil I’ve done in my life, I can’t help but be your humble servant Lord and I am forever thankful and am constantly trying to better myself for you, for her, and for my son.

    • Mrs.Kortez said,

      I love you so much too Sam. I am truly blessed and lucky to have you in my life.

  32. Neo said,

    Wow I love this, I thought I was the only 1 whose praying for my relationship b4 marriage coz ppl thing its senseless coz we r nt yet husband & wife…

  33. terri pontius said,

    With you God as our foundation I know we can overcome any obstacle that we may face. We have been though many trials in our relationship but we are still here in each others arms. I am forever thankful that you put this wonderful man Luis into my life and we have a beautiful son together. I truly know that he is the love of my life and we will continue to prayer together and grow in faith together, to love each other, for if you have god in your life you can overcome anything as long as you have faith and love. I love you Luis and you mean everything to me in this world. I thank god everyday for you and cant wait to walk down the aisle to be your wife forever till the die we both die…… God continue to bless us keep us strong,keep our family together and give us the love for one anther that we never ever felt before. Make our love for each other stronger then what is is now, listen to our prayer lord god to have us together forever… In jesus name i pray Amen.

  34. Anonymous said,

    I pray for Erwin and I :) Amen!

  35. Anonymous said,

    I am praying for Deborah’s loving heart and luscious lips. She may become completely enamored with me. No more regrets for us. I want to kiss her. Deborah Noyes Renfroe. We share a kiss. I am praying for opening Deborah’s heart. Can I kiss Deborah.

  36. Vanessa said,

    This prayer is very lovely. Please pray for my current relationship we are having trouble at the moment and I wouldn’t want it to be over. Thank you all.

  37. Monique said,

    Hey everyone please pray for my relationship. My soulmate Anthony P. and I have been in long distance relationship for 2 years now. I thank God everyday for restoring our relationship it’s still in a working progress. I haven’t heard from my soulmate Anthony P. for a while because he’s busy with work and all. I did try to contact him I’m praying that he’ll get in contact with me by phone email or text message soon.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

